Geospatial Online Transportation User Group

AASHTO Liaison
Penelope Weinberger, Transportation Data Program Manager

To receive webinar invitations, updates, and information from the GOTUG distribution list please click here.

The lead states involved in the AASHTO Innovation Initiative UPLAN II team have established a User’s Group for ongoing development of the benefits of comprehensive GIS-based online collaboration platforms. These platforms serve as decision tools that allow data sharing (open or selective) among various units within an agency as well as between agencies, with other transportation agencies nationwide and with the public for the purposes of advancing transportation priorities. This user group was formed in September 2015 under the Standing Committee on Planning and the Subcommittee on Data.

To provide ongoing support and development of transportation agency capabilities regarding comprehensive GIS-based online collaboration platforms.

Steering Committee

Jeremy Aycock, North Carolina DOT (Chair)
Andrew Wimsatt, Texas Transportation Institute
Nicole Hanson, Idaho Transportation Department
Adrian Sellers, Utah DOT
Mark Sarmiento, FHWA
Penelope Weinberger

Membership can include interested state, local, and federal agencies, contract vendors, and academia.

To join and receive updates and information from the GOTUG distribution list please click here.

Quarterly webinars are held to share data, discuss opportunities, issues, and needs, and invite agencies to present their online GIS work using this group’s platform.

GOTUG Webinars/Presentations


*AASHTO is not endorsing or promoting any brand of products. These webinars are for information sharing purposes and are open to all tools.
If you are interested in presenting or have an idea for a webinar topic, please contact Penelope Weinberger (,  or Jeremy Aycock  (